My Photo
Name: Julie A Carda

After studying dance in Europe, Julie returned to the United States and graduated from Creighton University. With a desire to expand her knowledge of the arts and spirituality, she graduated from St. John’s University in Collegeville with a Masters in Theology and Liturgical Studies. Over the past twenty years, she has taught high school and college courses, and facilitated workshops on the healing arts while occasionally writing for academic periodicals. Her quest to acknowledge world religions and the desire to expose the similarities of love and peaceful living, led her to travel, live, and study with shaman practitioners, herbal healers, Native American medicine women, Buddhist priests and other earth-based spiritual teachers. Through these experiences and experiences with global metaphysical teachings, she learned to honor the eternal Source of love in all people. Besides writing fiction, Julie is co-creating a Space of Love through advocacy for Kin Domains.

Wednesday, February 3, 2010

Phases involved in Grief

Although there are many theories about the emotional path grief takes most grief therapists agree about the general phases involved.
Denial:  “This can’t be happening to me.”
Anger:  “Why is this happening?  Who is to blame?”
Bargaining:  “Make this not happen, and in return I will____.”
Depression:   “I’m too sad to do anything.”
Acceptance:  “I’m at peace with what happened.”

Keep in mind these phases don’t have to take a set order.  Grieving can be very much like a roller coaster full of ups, downs, highs and lows.


Post a Comment

Links to this post:

Create a Link

<< Home